1 Comment

Thoughts On 9/11

English: United Airlines Flight 175 crashes in...

English: United Airlines Flight 175 crashes into the south tower of the World Trace Center complex in New York City during the September 11 attacks (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So, this is the day. 11 years ago, America was attacked by a terrorist organization and people died. Now, I’m going to avoid conspiracy theories at this point and deal with facts. There are enough to cover an entire essay, and I plan to take up as little of your precious time as possible. I remember that day. I was getting up early for school and my mom was shouting, “Turn on the TV! It’s World War 3!” When I saw what we learned Al Qaeda had done, I was pissed. Foregoing better judgment, I got behind then-President George W. Bush and like a follower with rocks for brains, I went hook, line and sinker for 2 major wars in Afghanistan and Iraq.

As I sit here now, 11 years later, as much as that day made a huge impression on me, both as a writer and as a human being, I feel we’re being as ignorant as I was in 2001. We look at 9/11 and attacks on US soil as horrible and heinous, but when it happens elsewhere, it’s somehow justifiable. Murder never is. 2,997 people died as a result of 9/11. 655,000 have been killed since 2003 by US hands ALONE.

Now, I mean not to turn this into a discussion of statistics, but I use numbers in order to clearly state that if Christ said “an eye for an eye,” I fail to see that being accomplished – unless, according to a perversion of America’s notion of Christianity, the life of one American is worth 300 Iraqis. Casualties of war? I don’t remember hearing about Al Qaeda being there. How many countries dislike America? You want to bomb them too? And conveniently, Osama Bin Ladin‘s home and America’s greatest ally in the Middle East (forget Israel) is Saudi Arabia. The Bushes and the Bin Ladens have a history of working together over oil. That’s not conspiracy, that is fact. America also supplied Bin Laden with weapons to fight the Russians in the 1980s in Afghanistan. I guess the moral of this story is that you NEVER, under ANY circumstances, receive help from America.

My person view is that we all SHOULD see this as a horrible tragedy. People died in September 11, 2001. But until we put that into perspective, we can’t possibly prevent the next attack.

One comment on “Thoughts On 9/11

  1. You and I have a similar story to tell on 9/11. I was still in school when 9/11 happened too. Got behind Bush. Typical neocon. No longer. Put that all behind me and not looking back.

What's Up?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,805 other followers

